What Age Is Too Old For Disney?

You know those annoying people who say that you’re a baby for liking Disney? Yeah. I do too. But where are they coming from? Where did they get the idea that Disney is only made for kids?

I thought about this after I watched Frozen (an amazing film). I thought, “Am I getting too old for this?”

My friends tell me I am, but why? Let’s see.

Let’s start off with Disney’s actual intentions. From the beginning, Walt Disney aimed to create films that will please everyone. Disneyland was made for both children and adults. But by the late 1990’s and early 2000’s, Disney started making films solely for children. They really didn’t have the story and animation the older films had, but, heck, the kids liked it! And that’s all that mattered to them.

But lately, Disney’s been coming back to their roots, making films that both adults and children will love, such as Wreck It Ralph, The Princess and the Frog, Tangled, and, as I mentioned before, Frozen. They brought back the beautiful animation, solid story, and great songs the original films had. This is what I love about Disney.

But then again, we have things like Disney Channel, which I had the BURDEN to review. With shows like Mickey Mouse Clubhouse emphasizing the fact that Mickey was supposedly made for toddlers. There are many children’s toys with cutesy versions of Mickey Mouse, Stitch, or Winnie the Pooh. Because of this, these characters have been associated with small children.

But I also had another question. Is Disney “girly”? As a male of the species, I am very quick to say a “yes” or even a “maybe”. But upon further analysis, I realize that…no…it’s not. Princesses have been classified as something the girls usually enjoy. But I enjoy films such as Tangled, Sleeping Beauty, etc. Does that mean I’m “girly”? Well, no.

First of all, the term “girly” is completely subjective. It can be interpreted in many different ways. I like to look at it in the viewpoint of the “Brony” culture. It is basically the same thing as the people who are hating on Disney. 

According to human psychology, humans are afraid of anything unfamiliar to them. They will not understand it.

In this way, Disney haters will never understand that Disney is not always “childish” or “girly”. I can never change that. But that does not answer our question. What age is too old for Disney? Is there an age too old for Disney? I don’t believe so. Disney can be enjoyed by all ages.

Anyone can enjoy Disney. Girl or boy, 4 years old or 40 years old, even the haters have some respect for the one and only, Disney.

See you later, Animators!

2 thoughts on “What Age Is Too Old For Disney?

Leave a Reply

