IotGC UPDATE! 12/7/13

Hey guys! It’s UPDATE TIME!!!!!

Lately, I’ve been writing small posts on this blog, mainly because I’ve been busy on my 3rd rendition of John. This one is going to be a bit more rounded and cartoon-y. It is looking great so far. I’ll show a test render soon.

I’ve also been studying up on my rigging. Someone I know once told me that when learning the process of 3D animation, learn all of the different skills required in every step in production.

For Example: Don’t just focus on animation for your entire life if you want a job at Pixar or Dreamworks. Learn Rigging, Shading, Modeling, Simulation, Storyboarding, Concept Artistry, etc. Be a well-rounded individual. 🙂

So that’s what I’m trying to do. In Rigging, I’m learning about different Bone Constraints and Euler and Quaternion rotations. But I’ll talk more about that in the future. 

I don’t know if I’ve mentioned this before, but I had my first recording session for one of the main characters a couple weeks ago. It went extremely well. I’ll use that experience to explain how to direct actors in animation, because it is very different that directing live-action actors. Though I have only done recording session about 5 times, I still have a very fine understanding of how it works. 

Lastly, Island of the Golden Caves is probably going to take a lot longer than I expected it to be. Another 1-3 years is expected until this film is finished. Sorry, this is our first film, we’re still learning how to do things, we only have three people on the crew, I’m the only animator, and we only work when we have spare time. We have a life outside of blogging and animation. 

 

That’s all for now folks! See you later, Animators!

2 thoughts on “IotGC UPDATE! 12/7/13

  1. I definitely know the feeling as far as the timeframe goes — I started working on my own animated musical project about two years ago, and I anticipated I’d be done producing one or two episodes at least by the end of the first year, but the process has taken much longer and involved much more learning than I anticipated. Looking forward to seeing your final product.

Leave a Reply

