Oswald Reviews: “Monsters University” (SPOILER ALERT)

I remember little three year old me, watching the first “Monsters” movie. The nostalgia. So certainly it wouldn’t be such a bad idea to watch the next one. I really wished Boo was in this one, but hey, let’s just be happy Pixar decided to give us a nice return to the Monster world.

Story: I got to admit. This movie was Pixar’s return. “Cars 2” was Pixar’s first decent film. “Brave” was an improvement, but it still wasn’t perfect. “Monsters University” on the other hand, is how Pixar is supposed to be.

The story makes you think you know what’s going to happen, but then it turns on you. It gives a sense of surprise. The jokes are good and they actually made me giggle. Which is amazing because movies don’t usually make me laugh. The scary and tense moments are very good. They actually made me jump sometimes. Overall, the story is Pixar at their best.

Animation: As always, Pixar did phenomenal on the animation. Everything seems utterly realistic. Every little detail is just beautiful. And I really liked the “Winds of Change” poster on Randall’s wall. I really heard them. 🙂

Characters: Pixar did a great job at remaining the characters we know and love. We think Sully is just basically a jerk at first, but then we really learn the true feelings of him and how he’s always so afraid of not living up to his family name. Mike is basically the character we remember. But the thing about him is that I can relate to him, and I am sure we all can. There was a point in my life that I wanted to prove that I’m something special. The new characters are pretty likable. Most of them are very memorable.

Overall, I say this movie was great. The story is Pixar-standard, the animation is also, and the characters are very memorable and fun. I would certainly recommend this to people who are fans of “Monsters Inc.” and those who are new to the film.

Story: 10/10
Animation: 10/10
Characters: 9/10
Overall: 9.6/10 (average out to a 10/10)

3D: Maybe

Leave a Reply

